8 Etudes in octaves

I. Lilt

II. Skip

III. Wane

IV. Flutter

V. Riff

VI. Gleam

VII. Resound

VIII. Shimmer

Instrumentation: Solo Piano

Duration: 16'00

Premiere: November 21, 2016, McIntosh Theater, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Performer: Karalyn Schubring, piano

Program Note: Every etude within 8 Etudes in Octaves is contained within the thirteen notes of a particular octave, and the octaves are arranged such that nearly every note on the piano will have been sounded at the completion of the set. Each etude has its own distinct character that was largely inspired by the resonance of its particular range. While there is no shortage of etudes in the piano repertoire, this particular collection uses self-imposed limitations to paint a fresh portrait of the piano.